European Commission: Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2021

Data chiusura
18 Apr 2021
€ 30.000
Soggetto gestore
European Commission


Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2021.

The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize was launched in 1992 to honour courage in journalism. It rewards the excellence of journalists reporting about the stories that matter on the topics of inequality, poverty eradication, sustainable development, environment, biodiversity, climate action, digital, jobs and employment, education and skills development, migration, healthcare, and peace, democracy and human rights. 

The #NataliPrize was created by the European Commission’s Directorate-General for International Partnerships (DG INTPA), and named after Lorenzo Natali, a precursor to the international partnerships approach to global challenges impacting society.

Today, the #NataliPrize community of ground-breaking journalists working for a better world has become a global platform to the stories giving a voice to those whose vital message is often overlooked. This community of trailblazers includes past #NataliPrize winners, past Grand Jury members as well as the strategic regional partners and ambassadors closely collaborating with the European Commission in the organization of the Prize. 

Entries to this year’s competition should relate to the issues of:

  1. Inequality,
  2. Poverty eradication,
  3. Sustainable development,
  4. Environment, biodiversity, climate action,
  5. Digital (gap, connectivity, e-governance, entrepreneurship),
  6. Jobs and employment,
  7. Education and skills development,
  8. Migration,
  9. Healthcare (access, assistance), and
  10. Peace, democracy and human rights.

Applicants must choose one of the three categories when filling in the online form. The Prize is open to journalists in the following three categories: 

  • Grand Prize: reporting published by a media based in one of the European Union’s partner countries on development and cooperation. 
  • Europe Prize: reporting published by a media based in the European Union (not including the United Kingdom). 
  • Best Emerging Journalist Prize: open to journalists under 30 whose reporting was published by a media based in the European Union (not including the United Kingdom) or in one of its partner countries on development and cooperation. 

Publication period: Entries must have been published (an online version must be accessible) or broadcasted (radio or television with an online version accessible) between 10 March 2020 and 9 March 2021.

Language requirements: The Prize admits submissions in all languages accompanied by a translation in English, French or Spanish when these are not the original languages of the reporting. The entries in languages other than English, French or Spanish will only be evaluated on the basis of the translated texts.

Length: For text-based entries, the length limit is 2,300 words. Video and audio entries can be up to 15 minutes long.

Geographic eligibility: The location of the media outlet where the reporting was published determines the geographic eligibility of your application. The outlet’s office must be based in an eligible country. For example, reporting published in Reuters India is eligible, while reporting published in Reuters USA is not. 

Author(s): Submitted reporting can have one or several authors. The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work. 

Budget: € 30,000.

Beneficiari e Finalitá

Dimensione Beneficiari
Non Applicabile
Cultura, Sociale - No Profit - Altro
Sociale - Cooperazione
Ubicazione Investimento
  • Europe

Incentivi e Spese

Tipologia agevolazione
Premi e Borse

There will be up to three winners. Each winner will receive 10,000 €.

The winner of the Best Emerging Journalist category will also be offered a work experience opportunity with a media partner.

Categories will not be awarded if quality is not met.

Tempistica investimento

Apply via online form between 1 March and 18 April 2021 23:59 CET.

Questo sito web utilizza i cookie! Acconsenti ai nostri cookie, se continui ad utilizzare questo sito web.